The American Whig-Cliosophic Society, otherwise known as “Whig-Clio,” is a political, literary, and debating society at Princeton University. It is the oldest of such societies in the United States, and was founded in the 1760s by James Madison, William Paterson, and Aaron Burr. Originally two different societies – the American Whig Society and the Cliosophic society – the organizations were the fulcrum of student life at Princeton until the end of the 19th century. The societies merged in 1928 to form the modern American Whig-Cliosophic Society. Today, Whig-Clio promotes political and philosophical activity among students and serves as an umbrella political organization on campus that sponsors prominent speakers and lecturers, holds oratory contests, oversees subsidiary groups, and fosters civil discourse on campus.


This blog is dedicated to recording the history of the American Whig-Cliosophic Society. In doing so, it seeks to also explore the unfolding history of present-day Whig-Clio. As an organization that has existed in some form for longer than the United States has been an independent nation, there is much to explore in the way of continuity and change in the society. As a venture of the current governing council of Whig-Clio, this blog will also seek to record the modern events of Whig-Clio, its members, and its alumni. In short, this blog will seek to understand Whig-Clio, where it has been, and thus, where it should go.